Romanian Visa

VI. Airport transit visa (symbol A)


1. General information

It allows its holder to transit the international area of airports and to wait there until boarding the plane towards the country of destination.


2. Do I need a visa to transit the international area of an airport in Romania?

List of the states whose citizens are required airport transit visas:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • The Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Syria
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka


3. Exemptions from the obligation to hold an airport transit visa: ​

The following categories of persons are exempted from the obligation to hold an airport transit visa:

  •  holders of a valid uniform visa, a national long-stay visa or a residence permit issued by a Member State;
  • holders of a valid residence permit issued by Andorra, Canada, Japan, San Marino or the United States of America, which guarantees its holder the unconditioned right to be readmitted, pursuant to Appendix V of the Regulation (EC) 810/2009 of the European Parliament and the Council dated July 13, 2009, establishing a Community Code on Visas (click here);
  • holders of a valid visa issued by a Member State or by a state part to the May 2, 1992 Agreement on the European Economic Area, by Canada, Japan or the United States of America, or in the case they are returning from the aforementioned states after having used their visa;
  • family members of EU citizens;
  • holders of diplomatic passports;
  • flight crew members who are nationals of third countries part to the Chicago Convention on International Civil Aviation.


4. Supporting documents to get an A-type visa:

  • information allowing the evaluation of the applicant’s intention not to enter the territory of Member States.
  • documents attesting the continuation of the journey to the final destination after the envisioned airport transit;