Press Room

Secretary of State Melania-Gabriela Ciot attended the meeting of national SUERD coordinators

Press release

On 14-15th of February 2019, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, under the patronage of the Romanian Presidency of the European Union Strategy of the Danube Region and with the technical support of the SUERD Regional Secretariat, organized, in Bucharest, the meeting of the SUERD National Coordinators. The purpose of the meeting was to agree on the Roadmap and the Calendar for the Review of the Action Plan of the Strategy.

The meeting was attended by national coordinators and representatives of the following Danube Strategy member states: Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, the Republic of Moldova, Romania and Ukraine, as well as representatives of the Department for Regional and Urban Policy (DG Regio) of the European Commission and the Danube Transnational Programme.

Secretary of State for European Affairs, Melania-Gabriela Ciot, opened the works of the meeting, presenting the themes and priorities of the Romanian Presidency at SUERD: ‘The main political objective of Romania's SUERD Presidency is the re-launching of the Strategy as a result of the revision of its 2010 Action Plan. The on-going review process is inclusive, transparent, open and thus successful. ‘

Additional information

The European Union Strategy for the Danube Region (SUERD) is one of the four macro-regional strategies of the EU, initiated and promoted successfully by Romania and Austria and endorsed by the European Council in 2011. SUERD is a cooperation platform of the Danube basin for the economic and social development of the Danube macro-region and an articulation framework between the priority objectives of national development and those of the ‘Europe 2020’ Strategy for smart, sustainable and favourable to inclusivity growth assumed by the Member States of the European Union.

Fourteen states are participating in the European Union Strategy for the Danube Region: nine Member States of the European Union (Austria, Romania, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Germany as Federal State and the Länder of Baden-Württemberg and Bavaria, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary) and five third countries (Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine). The strategy has four major objectives: interconnecting the Danube region, environmental protection in the Danube region, increasing the prosperity in the Danube region and strengthening the Danube region, being structured on 11 priority areas.

Romania coordinates three priority areas: inland waterway navigation (through the Ministry of Transport, together with Austria), promotion of culture, tourism and direct contacts between people (through the Ministry of Regional Development and Public Administration, Ministry of Culture and National Identity, Ministry of Tourism, Ministry for Romanians Abroad and the Department for Interethnic Relations, together with Bulgaria) and environmental risk management (through the Ministry of Waters and Forests, together with Hungary).